BY ALDS. BOHL, ZIELINSKI, BORKOWSKI, BAUMAN, WITKOWSKI, KOVAC, MURPHY, DONOVAN, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Michael A. O'Donnell on his retirement from the Department of Public Works.

WHEREAS,

MICHAEL A. O'DONNELL

retired with pride and satisfaction as a quality assurance coordinator with the Department of Public Works on February 27, 2016 after more than 20 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Michael A. O'Donnell was appointed an automotive mechanic supervisor III on March 20, 1995, and later served as first shift manager in heavy repair, and was promoted to the position of quality assurance coordinator on May 3, 1998; and

WHEREAS, Michael A. O'Donnell installed and implemented the new Fleet Focus management computer system, developed guidelines for systematic data entry, ensuring accuracy in reporting and data analysis, developed hundreds of custom reports to increase efficiency, conducted training classes both inside and outside Department of Public Works, oversaw the installation of the automated fuel management system that saved time fueling city vehicles and gave more accurate fuel usage records, facilitated inter-agency cooperation with MPS to allow for interdepartmental fueling, oversaw corporate and public vehicle fuel sales at the city's two CNG fueling sites, and discovered a provision in the tax code allowing for partial rebate of State Excise Tax on motor fuels for refuse trucks and aerial trucks, saving the City of Milwaukee of approximately \$50,000 annually; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Michael A. O'Donnell on his retirement from the Department of Public Works, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Michael A. O'Donnell, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Jim Bohl, Tony Zielinski, Mark A. Borkowski, Robert J. Bauman, Terry L. Witkowski, Nik Kovac, Michael J. Murphy, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2016.