BY ALDS. BAUMAN, MURPHY, KOVAC, HAMILTON, WADE, PEREZ, COGGS, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, BORKOWSKI, DONOVAN

Resolution congratulating and commending the Marquette University High School Soccer Team on an outstanding 2015 championship season.

WHEREAS,

MARQUETTE UNIVERSITY HIGH SCHOOL SOCCER TEAM

won the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division I State Boys Soccer Championship on November 7, 2015 at Uihlein Soccer Park; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 Marquette University High School boys soccer team, composed of players who dedicated themselves to hard work, teamwork, and excellence, were able to bring out the best in themselves while putting together a season that most schools only dream about; and

WHEREAS, The Hilltoppers defeated Arrowhead 5-2 in the title game to clinch their eleventh WIAA Division 1 State Championship, and finished with an outstanding 20-2 record; and

WHEREAS, The Marquette University High School Hilltoppers earned the pride and respect of their peers and of the community for their hard work, dedication and for their sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the Marquette University High School Boys Soccer Team on winning the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division I State Boys Soccer Championship, recognizes it on an outstanding 2015 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Marquette University High School.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Nik Kovac, Ashanti Hamilton, Willie C. Wade, José G. Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, and Robert G. Donovan and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 24, 2015.