BY ALDS. WITKOWSKI, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, DONOVAN, COGGS, PUENTE, PEREZ, MURPHY, BORKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating Jim and Gloria Shire for receiving the 2015 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award presented by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress.

WHEREAS,

JIM AND GLORIA SHIRE

were awarded the 2015 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress on November 8, 2015 at the 19th annual Polish Independence Day/Veterans Day luncheon at the Polish Center of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Jim and Gloria Shire are well known to people in the community for their deep commitment to the values, history, heritage and traditions of the Polish through their many years of contributions to the community; and

WHEREAS, Jim and Gloria Shire have been dedicated volunteers with the Polish Heritage Alliance (PHA) for more than 15 years, faithfully serving at the annual Polish Fest and Lenten Fish Fry; and

WHEREAS, Jim and Gloria Shire's unwavering dedication to Polish heritage has been recognized, as Gloria has been appointed to the Management Committee of the Polish Fest; and

WHEREAS, Jim and Gloria Shire have served a number of causes and organizations in addition to PHA, including the American Legion and the Girl Scouts of America; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jim and Gloria Shire on being honored with the Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award from the Wisconsin PAC, recognizes them for their dedication to their Polish heritage and wishes for them continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jim and Gloria Shire.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Robert W. Puente, José G. Pérez, Michael J. Murphy and Mark A. Borkowski, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 2, 2015.