Resolution recognizing and congratulating Maria Monteagudo on receiving the 2015 Public Sector Leader of the Year Award from Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee.

## WHEREAS,

## MARIA MONTEAGUDO

received the 2015 Public Sector Leader of the Year Award from Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee during a special ceremony at the Pfister Hotel on August 21, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Maria Monteagudo received her undergraduate degree and her master's in business administration from the University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez; and

WHEREAS, Maria Monteagudo began her career in public service with the City of Milwaukee in February 1988 when she joined the Department of Employee Relations as a personnel analyst, and was promoted to personnel analyst-senior in March 1989 before she was transferred and promoted to personnel officer for the Department of City Development in October 1994; and

WHEREAS, In November 1999, Maria joined the Health Department as personnel officer, and was promoted to her current position – director of the Department of Employee Relations – by Mayor Tom Barrett in July 2004; and

WHEREAS, Maria Monteagudo has served in various leadership roles, including as president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer for the International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR) Central Region, and she coordinated and hosted the IPMA-HR Central Region annual conference in Milwaukee in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Maria Monteagudo has served on the Milwaukee County Civil Service Commission since 2004, and has developed various partnerships in the region, including a recruiting partnership with the state Department of Natural Resources and a training partnership with Milwaukee County; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Maria Monteagudo on receiving the 2015 Public Sector Leader of the Year Award from Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee and wishes for her continued health and success in her future endeavors; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Maria Monteagudo.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2015: Nik Kovac, José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Joe Davis, Sr., Robert J. Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Willie C. Wade, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski and Russell W. Stamper, II.