Resolution recognizing Hermann Viets for his leadership and contributions during his tenure as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Project Lead The Way and MSOE.

WHEREAS,

HERMANN VIETS

retired with pride and satisfaction in June 2015 after 24 years of distinguished leadership as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Project Lead The Way and MSOE; and

- WHEREAS, Hermann Viets's astute vision and 24 years of insightful leadership have brought honor and prestige to the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE) and thereby the city and state; and
- WHEREAS, Under Hermann Viets's oversight, MSOE has implemented new programs including several undergraduate international study-abroad programs, a School of Nursing, two-year degree programs, MBAs, a joint master's degree with Medical College of Wisconsin, Woodrow Wilson Foundation MBA in Educational Leadership and a Servant-Leadership Office; and
- WHEREAS, Hermann Viets led MSOE to become the National Affiliate University for Project Lead The Way programs in the state of Wisconsin; and
- WHEREAS, Hermann Viets spearheaded the establishment of the Center for Entrepreneurship to advance creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship and develop success in all fields and disciplines; and
- WHEREAS, MSOE's downtown campus increased to 20 acres with the addition of Krueger Hall, Rosenberg Hall, Humphrey House, the Kern Center, the Grohmann Museum, Pamela and Hermann Viets Field and the Grohmann Tower; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Hermann Viets on his retirement, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Hermann Viets, an outstanding leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Nik Kovac, Russell W. Stamper, II, Jim Bohl, José G. Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, Terry L. Witkowski and Willie C. Wade and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 23, 2015.