BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, BOHL, DONOVAN, WITKOWSKI, COGGS, KOVAC, WADE

Resolution congratulating Irma Villegas on her retirement from the Milwaukee Public Schools.

WHEREAS.

IRMA VILLEGAS

celebrated the her retirement from the Milwaukee Public Schools on June 26, 2015 at Hotel Metro at 411 E. Mason St. after more than 36 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

- WHEREAS, Irma Villegas attended the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and received her B.A. in education in 1979, as well as a master's degree in 1990; and
- **WHEREAS,** Irma Villegas began her teaching career at 27th St. School from 1979 to 1982, when she moved on to Morgandale Elementary, and taught 2nd, 3rd, and 5th grade from 1982-2015; and
- WHEREAS, Irma Villegas' selfless passion for learning and education fostered a productive and encouraging learning environment for all the students she came in contact with, and she prided herself on helping her students improve their reading level to reach its full potential; and
- WHEREAS, While shorter in stature, Irma Villegas was known during her tenure to possess a strong personality, along her encouraging and supportive nature, which earned her the endearing nickname of "Little Sergeant" among her peers; and
- WHEREAS, Irma Villegas richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of her coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for her dedication and service to Milwaukee Public Schools and to the City of Milwaukee, and leaves a memorable legacy; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Irma Villegas on her retirement from Milwaukee Public Schools, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Irma Villegas.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Robert G. Donovan, Willie C. Wade, Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs and Nik Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 23, 2015.