## BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing James "Jim" Carroll on his retirement from the Common Council - City Clerk's Office.

## WHEREAS,

## JAMES "JIM" CARROLL

retired as the senior legislative fiscal analyst in the Legislative Reference Bureau on May 22, 2015 after 35 years of dedicated service to the Common Council - City Clerk's Office and the City of Milwaukee; and

**WHEREAS**, James "Jim" Carroll joined the city service in May 1980 as legislative assistant to 5<sup>th</sup> District Alderman Steve Cullen, and served in that role until September 1986; and

WHEREAS, Jim served as a financial information analyst in the Comptroller's Office from March 1987 to December 1990, and worked in the Housing Authority of the City of Milwaukee as an administrative specialist and housing intake specialist from December 1990 to August 1999 before joining the Legislative Reference Bureau as a fiscal review analyst (August 1999); and

**WHEREAS**, Jim Carroll's long tenure as the senior legislative fiscal analyst has encompassed 16 municipal budgets, each of which can fairly be said to have claimed an extra year of his life, and he has resisted all blandishment and decided not to return for a 17<sup>th</sup> budget; and

WHEREAS, Jim Carroll's expert knowledge of municipal finance, Milwaukee's form of government, and the history the city's budget in recent decades has been a significant source of institutional knowledge for the Common Council and the city as a whole, and his calming and reasoned demeanor has helped a great many officials and staff work through even the most difficult of policy problems; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates James "Jim" Carroll on his retirement from the Common Council - City Clerk's Office, and wishes for him a future of health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to James "Jim" Carroll, an outstanding employee.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 12, 2015: Robert J. Bauman, Ashanti Hamilton, Joe Davis, Sr., Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Willie C. Wade, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Michael J. Murphy, Joe Dudzik, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Terry L. Witkowski and Tony Zielinski.