BY ALDS. DAVIS, COGGS, DUDZIK, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, KOVAC, PEREZ

Resolution recognizing and congratulating the International Institute of Wisconsin on its 20th Annual World Citizen Day.

WHEREAS,

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE OF WISCONSIN

celebrated its 20th Annual World Citizen Day on April 25, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The International Institute of Wisconsin has been dedicated to the promotion of international cooperation, understanding, and a multi-ethnic, multi-cultural perspective through education, exchange, social service provision, and immigration and naturalization services since 1936; and

WHEREAS, The International Institute of Wisconsin initiates, coordinates, and sponsors a variety of valuable activities and programs appropriate to the fulfillment of its mission, and benefits Milwaukee area universities and students through engaging in formal collaborations and providing internships and unique volunteer opportunities; and

WHEREAS, The International Institute of Wisconsin offers multifaceted programming that strives to educate the Milwaukee community's members on the value of diversity and multiculturalism, and promotes cross cultural dialogue and understanding by hosting the Holiday Folk Fair, a Milwaukee tradition since 1943; and

WHEREAS, the citizens and institutions of Milwaukee and Wisconsin are enriched by the activities and programs of the International Institute of Wisconsin, which serves as a catalyst for international cooperation and understanding, bringing positive recognition through cultural exchange that improves the quality of life for all residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the International Institute of Wisconsin on the occasion of its 20th Annual World Citizen Day and wishes it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the International Institute of Wisconsin.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Davis, Sr., Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Jim Bohl, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski and Nik Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 12, 2015.