Resolution recognizing Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez for his induction into the Wisconsin Soccer Association Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS,

CIPRIANO "TANO" SANCHEZ

was inducted into the Wisconsin Soccer Association Hall of Fame on May 2, 2015 at American Serb Hall, 5101 W. Oklahoma Ave.,; and

- WHEREAS, Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez was born on September 7, 1950 in Tampico Tamaulipas, Mexico, migrated to Milwaukee in 1967, and served as the volunteer president and founder of the Aztec Warriors (1986), a single team that he built into a successful soccer brotherhood that would include a total of 260 members by the time of his retirement in 2002; and
- WHEREAS, Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez, who retired from Milwaukee County as a fleet maintenance supervisor in 2002, had the first Latino soccer team registered with the Wisconsin Soccer Association, and he was recognized for his volunteer efforts to the Hispanic Community by President Bill Clinton; and
- WHEREAS, Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez has received numerous honors for his devoted service and volunteer efforts, including 1995 UMOS Family of the Year, JC Penney Golden Rule Award, Jefferson Award (founded by Jacquelyn Kennedy Onassis), and the Shafer Award presented by Union; and
- WHEREAS, A devoted family man who has been married to Maria since 1974, Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez is the loving father of Cesar, Ivone, Maribel and Alejandro, and the proud and loving grandfather to Gabriela Sanchez, Rebecca Sanchez, Victoria Tatum, D'Angelo Sanchez, Cecilia Tatum, Alejandra Sanchez, Joaquín Tatum, Mixtli Murillo, Octavio Sanchez and Juan Cipriano Murillo; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez for his induction into the Wisconsin Soccer Association Hall of Fame and wishes for him continued health and success in his future endeavors; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 12, 2015.