BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing Denise Holloway on her retirement from the Common Council - City Clerk's Office.

WHEREAS,

DENISE HOLLOWAY

retired as executive administrative assistant in the office of Common Council President Michael J. Murphy on March 6, 2015 after more than 35 years of dedicated service to the Common Council - City Clerk's Office and the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Denise Holloway joined the city service in November 1979 as a clerk stenographer in the Bureau of Engineers in the Department of Public Works, and joined the Office of the City Clerk on December 30, 1990 as council secretary to four Common Council members – Alderman Paul Henningsen, Alderman Robert Anderson, Alderwoman Mary Ann McNulty and Alderman Michael McGee; and

WHEREAS, In September 1999, Denise Holloway was appointed as legislative assistant to 1st District Alderman Marvin Pratt, was promoted to executive administrative assistant to Common Council President Marvin Pratt in July 2001, and continued in that role for President Willie L. Hines, Jr. and President Michael J. Murphy until the time of her retirement; and

WHEREAS, During her tenure in the Common Council President's Office, Denise regularly handled the President's calendar, performed administrative tasks (mailings, filings, and other duties), handled permits, set up appointments with constituents, businesses, and organizations, and helped with constituent relations and requests; and

WHEREAS, Denise served the constituents of Milwaukee well, and she possessed extensive institutional and historical knowledge/context about the Common Council and the city, and she was instrumental in helping newer staff learn the very many facets of city government, including which department (and person) to call to solve specific problems, where things are located in the office, how to troubleshoot a problem, how to solve complicated constituent complaints, and she was always ready to answer a question in a helpful manner; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Denise Holloway on her retirement from the Common Council - City Clerk's office and the Office of the President, and wishes for her a future of health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Denise Holloway, an outstanding employee.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 31, 2015: Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Joe Davis, Sr., Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Jim Bohl, Willie C. Wade, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Michael J. Murphy, Joe Dudzik, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Terry L. Witkowski and Tony Zielinski.