BY ALDS. DONOVAN, PEREZ, MURPHY

Resolution congratulating the Layton Boulevard West Neighbors on its 20th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

LAYTON BOULEVARD WEST NEIGHBORS

commemorated its 20th anniversary of working to create healthy and robust neighborhoods by stabilizing and revitalizing the Silver City, Burnham Park and Layton Park communities; and

- WHEREAS, Founded in 1995, Layton Boulevard West Neighbors serves the community located between S. Layton Blvd., Miller Park Way, W. Pierce St. and W. Lincoln Ave. and has improved the lives of some 6,000 neighbors; and
- WHEREAS, Layton Boulevard West Neighbors' (LBWN) goal is promote community safety, increase property values, and neighborhood confidence, and LBWN achieves this goal through empowering neighbors, business owners and stakeholders to invest their time and money into the community's continued growth; and
- **WHEREAS**, LBWN positively impacts the City of Milwaukee by offering rich and historic homes built in the Silver City, Burnham Park, and Layton Park neighborhoods, which feature homes designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, one of the world's iconic architects; and
- WHEREAS, Layton Boulevard West Neighbors has leveraged the investment of more than \$40 million in homes, public space and business developments, and implemented more than 200 community service events and projects in which approximately 8,000 neighbors have participated; and
- WHEREAS, LBWN helped create 108 new jobs and 29 new businesses, and LBWN has achieved the outcomes of \$5.1 million invested in improving 672 homes and \$5.9 million invested in sales of 67 homes; now, therefore, be it,
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates the Layton Boulevard West Neighbors on its 20th anniversary, and wishes for it continued success; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Layton Boulevard West Neighbors.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert G. Donovan, José G. Pérez and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 31, 2015.