BY ALDS. MURPHY, BOHL, KOVAC, WADE, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ, DUDZIK, PUENTE, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating and commending Milwaukee Pius XI High School Girls Basketball Team on winning the State Division 2 Title.

WHEREAS,

MILWAUKEE PIUS XI GIRLS BASKETBALL TEAM

won the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division 2 State Girls Basketball Championship on March 14, 2015 at the Resch Center in Green Bay; and

WHEREAS, The 2014-2015 Milwaukee Pius XI High School girls basketball team, composed of players who dedicated themselves to hard work, teamwork, and excellence, were able to bring out the best in themselves while putting together a remarkable season; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Popes girls basketball team won their second WIAA Division 2 State Basketball Championship, after an undefeated season with a 28-0 overall record, and during their season held 19 opponents to 36 or fewer points; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Pius XI girls basketball team won the championship title by the score of 54-36 against Cedarburg High School, with a display of teamwork opening the game with a made three point shot; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Pius XI girls basketball team earned the pride and respect of their peers and of the community for their hard work and dedication to the season and for their sportsmanship and teamwork; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the Milwaukee Pius XI basketball team on winning the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division 2 State Girls Basketball Championship, recognizes it on an outstanding 2014-2015 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Milwaukee Pius XI High School girls basketball team.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Jim Bohl, Nik Kovac, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Willie C. Wade, José G. Pérez, Joe Dudzik and Robert W. Puente and Terry L. Witkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 31, 2015.