BY ALDS. KOVAC, MURPHY, BOHL, BAUMAN, DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI, DONOVAN, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ, PUENTE, ZIELINSKI

Resolution congratulating Donald L. Schriefer on his retirement from the City Attorney's Office.

WHEREAS,

## DONALD L. SCHRIEFER

served both the City of Milwaukee and the Milwaukee Public Schools with skill, distinction, and good grace as an Assistant City Attorney for 17 years and retired on March 31, 2015; and

- **WHEREAS**, Donald L. Schriefer in his youth was the man of twists and turns who schooled a future NBA All-Star on the hardwood court, and years later schooled many others on the fine points of labor and employment law in both state and federal court; and
- WHEREAS, Donald L. Schriefer, often standing Horatius-like at the bridge, has fought the good fight to preserve vital management rights before numerous arbitrators, and federal and state agencies, particularly the Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission; and
- WHEREAS, Donald L. Schriefer throughout his career has counseled countless administrators, managers, department heads, and colleagues on the complexities of the law, while always imparting his sound judgment with a felicity of phrasing; and
- **WHEREAS**, Donald L. Schriefer has by word and deed embodied the highest standards of scholarship, advocacy, counseling, and ethical conduct, and has gained the universal admiration and esteem of his colleagues in the City Attorney's office in every respect (save for one chili-related honor); now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Donald L. Schriefer on his retirement from the City Attorney's Office, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for his service, and wishes him a long, healthy and happy retirement; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Donald L. Schriefer, an outstanding city employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Michael J. Murphy, Jim Bohl, Robert Bauman, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Robert W. Puente, José G. Pérez and Tony Zielinski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 31, 2015.