## BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, BOHL, KOVAC, WADE, MURPHY, PEREZ, DUDZIK, PUENTE, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating and commending the Milwaukee Young Coggs Preparatory Academy Basketball Team on winning the State Division 5 Title.

## WHEREAS,

## MILWAUKEE YOUNG COGGS PREP BASKETBALL TEAM

won the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division 5 State Boys Basketball Championship on March 21, 2015 at the Kohl Center in Madison; and

WHEREAS, The 2014-2015 Milwaukee Young Coggs Prep boys basketball team, composed of players who dedicated themselves to hard work, teamwork, and excellence, were able to bring out the best in themselves while putting together a remarkable season; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles boys basketball team won their first WIAA Division 5 State Basketball Championship against the Hillsboro Tigers 56-50, after an historic season with a 23-5 overall record; and

**WHEREAS**, The Eagles were the only boys basketball team from Milwaukee to represent in the 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the WIAA tournament adding another title to the city's rich history in this statewide competition; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Young Coggs Prep boys basketball team earned the pride and respect of their peers and of the community for their hard work and dedication to the season and for their sportsmanship and teamwork; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the Milwaukee Young Coggs Preparatory Academy Basketball Team on winning the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division 5 State Basketball Championship, recognizes it on an outstanding 2014-2015 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Milwaukee Young Coggs Preparatory Academy Boys Basketball Team.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Nik Kovac, Willie C. Wade, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Joe Dudzik and Robert W. Puente, Terry L. Witkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 31, 2015.