BY ALDS. BOHL, KOVAC, MURPHEY, WITKOWSKI, DUDZIK, DONOVAN, HAMILTON, PEREZ, WADE, PUENTE

Resolution congratulating Hamid Sarlati on his retirement from Department of City Development,

WHEREAS,

HAMID SARLATI

retired with pride and satisfaction as a housing rehabilitation specialist with the Department of City Development on February 28, 2015 after more than 23 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Hamid Sarlati richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of his coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for his dedication and service to the Department of City Development and to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Hamid Sarlati worked with Milwaukee property owners to improve their properties and neighborhoods by providing technical assistance and construction management for the rehabilitation to more than 1,100 units of housing; and

WHEREAS, Hamid Sarlati was involved in rehabilitation projects that resulted in investment of over \$20,000,000 in city neighborhoods, where the majority of work focused on assisting low and moderate income homeowners make essential repairs and stabilizing homeownership and provided technical assistance to more than ten different housing initiatives; and

WHEREAS, Through his work, Hamid Sarlati increased local and minority owned contracting opportunities, and helped many local contractors grow their businesses, and was awarded multiple Cream of the Cream City Historic Preservation Awards for restoration to historically significant homes; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Hamid Sarlati on his retirement from the Department of City Development, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Hamid Sarlati, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Jim Bohl, Nik Kovac, Michael J. Murphy, Tony Zielinski, Terry L. Witkowski, Joe Dudzik, Robert G. Donovan, José G. Pérez, Willie C. Wade, Robert W. Puente and Ashanti Hamilton and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 3, 2015.