

## MEMORANDUM

## LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

WWW.MILWAUKEE.GOV/LRB

To:	Honorable Members of the Sister Cities Committee
From:	Amy E. Hefter - Legislative Fiscal Analyst-Lead, ext. 2290
Date:	November 20, 2014
Subject:	Government Structure of Bomet, Kenya

This memo is in response to your request for information relating to the government structure of the County and City of Bomet, Kenya.

A new Kenyan constitution was promulgated in 2010. It created a coalition government and amended the constitution to alter the structure of the executive branch, allowing for a prime minister post and the creation of 2 deputy prime minister posts. Under the 2010 constitution, the executive branch is headed by the president, who is head of state and government and is assisted by the deputy president and the cabinet.

The 2010 constitution provides for bicameral parliament, consisting of a 68-member Senate and a 350-member National Assembly.

For administrative purposes, Kenya is divided into 47 counties, which are headed by directlyelected governors. Each county has an assembly, which is composed of directly-elected members, nonelected members (who are selected after being nominated by political parties proportionate to each party's share of elected seats in the assembly), and an ex officio speaker.

The county structure began to be phased in after county governor elections were held in 2013. Kenya was previously divided into 8 provinces: Nyanza, Western, Rift Valley, Central, Eastern, North Eastern, Coast and Nairobi. Under the constitution, the transfer of authority to the county government system was expected to occur within 3 years of the 2013 elections. A new government body, the Transition Authority, was created and charged with facilitating the process.

Bomet County is a county in the former Rift Valley Province of Kenya. Its capital and largest city is Bomet. The county has a population of 730,129. The City of Bomet has a total population of 110,963.

The Bomet County Assembly has 25 elected members, 10 nominated members, a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker. The Clerk of the Assembly is an authorized officer in the Assembly. The County has a senator, a female representative and 5 members of parliament.

The County Assembly exercises power to enact laws at the county level. It also exercises oversight power over the County Executive Committee and other county executive bodies. It receives and approves plans and policies for the management of the County's resources, infrastructure and institutions.

The administrative center for Bomet County is the City of Bomet. The City of Bomet is served by 3 local authorities: Bomet Municipal and County Councils, and Sotik Town Councils.

The City of Bomet is located between Nairobi and Kisii. Bomet (city) has 6 wards: Cheboin, Emkwen, Itembe, Mutarakwa, Township and Tuluapmosonik. These wards are split between Bomet, Chepalungu, Kanoin and Sotik constituencies.

The City of Bomet has a Municipal Council and a Mayor. The Municipal Council has 7 members and elects its mayor. In July 2011, municipal council members elected Bomet's first female mayor, Joyce Chepkoech Korir.