BY ALDS. DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, DONOVAN, COGGS, PUENTE, PEREZ, MURPHY

Resolution honoring Polanki for more than 60 years of service.

WHEREAS.

POLANKI

was honored for more than 60 years of service to the community at the 18th annual Polish Independence Day/Veterans Day luncheon at the Polish Center of Wisconsin on November 2, 2014; and

- WHEREAS, Established in 1953, Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee, has been Wisconsin's leading voluntary association committed to building knowledge and appreciation for the Polish culture and heritage; and
- WHEREAS, Polanki has hosted and contributed to numerous events over the decades, including the Holiday Folk Fair, the annual Debutantes Ball and several national conventions of the American Council of Polish Cultural Clubs(now the American Council for Polish Culture); and
- WHEREAS, For more than 30 years, Polanki has sponsored an extraordinary annual college scholarship competition recognizing young men and women of Polish heritage for their talents and potential; and
- WHEREAS, Polanki has given its financial support to great initiatives such as the Polish Center of Wisconsin in Franklin, the restoration of the historic Kosciuszko monument in Milwaukee and to other charitable and humanitarian causes in Poland and America; and
- **WHEREAS**, The members of the Polish Women's Cultural Club continue to make the organization dynamic and versatile, while also fulfilling its founding mission; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee, for more than 60 years of distinguished service, thanks it for its many positive contributions to the city and wishes for it continued prosperity; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Robert W. Puente, José G. Pérez and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2014