BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing City of Medan Mayor Dzulmi Eldin.

WHEREAS,

HONORABLE MAYOR DZULMI ELDIN

was visited by a delegation from the City of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, October 10 - 12, 2014; and

WHEREAS, The visiting City of Milwaukee delegation, led by Alderman Joe Davis, Sr., shared information about Milwaukee's government and its economy – from its traditional manufacturing industry to light manufacturing and service industry – and about Milwaukee's rich cultural and ethnic diversity; and

WHEREAS, The Republic of Indonesia is the largest and fastest growing economy in Southeast Asia and one of the fastest growing countries in the world, is the fourth most populous country after China, India and the United States, and President Barack Obama resided in Indonesia for about four years with his mother and stepfather in Jakarta; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Eldin was born in Medan on July 4, 1960, assumed his duty as Acting Mayor of Medan from May 15, 2013 – June 18, 2014 and was later inaugurated as the Mayor of Medan in June 2014, and he earlier served as the Deputy Mayor of Medan, a post he held from July 26, 2010 to May 15, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Eldin's previous posts of service include Secretary of the City of Medan, General Administrative Assistant to the Secretary of the City of Medan (2007), Head of Office for the City's Revenue and Head of the Patumbak Subdistrict (1997); and

WHEREAS, In January 2013 Andriana Supandy, Consul General of Indonesia, visited with Alderman Davis and other City of Milwaukee officials in Milwaukee to begin a positive and mutually beneficial relationship between Indonesia and the City of Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the Honorable Mayor Dzulmi Eldin, wishes him continued good health and happiness and looks forward to continued cooperation and good relations; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Honorable Mayor Dzulmi Eldin.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 14, 2014: Joe Davis, Sr., Michael J. Murphy, Robert J. Bauman, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Willie C. Wade, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Joe Dudzik, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski and Russell W. Stamper, II.