BY ALDS. PEREZ, DONOVAN, PUENTE, ZIELINSKI, KOVAC, BOHL, DUDZIK, COGGS, WITKOWSKI, WADE, MURPHY, BAUMAN

Resolution congratulating Jose Ruano on being honored by the El Conquistador Latino Newspaper.

WHEREAS,

JOSE RUANO

was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the El Conquistador Latino Newspaper during the paper's 16th anniversary banquet on July 18, 2014 at American Serb Hall, 5101 W. Oklahoma Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Jose Ruano has been the Multicultural Relations Manager at MillerCoors for more than 30 years and has been instrumental in bridging the communication gap and obtaining funds for local community organizations; and

WHEREAS, Jose Ruano helped MillerCoors become the first major U.S. corporation to create a Spanish-language website dedicated to responsibility called "Vive Responsablemente," or "Live Responsibly"; and

WHEREAS, Jose Ruano assisted in the launching of MillerCoors' "Líders of the Year," a leadership initiative to recognize Hispanic leaders throughout the US. And offer a grant for leadership training; and

WHEREAS, El Conquistador was founded by Victor Huyke, its editor and publisher, on July 4, 1998 as a free weekly Spanish language tabloid serving Milwaukee's Hispanic community and has become a key source of news and information for the community, providing valuable coverage of key issues including politics, immigration, culture and entertainment, business/economic development, sports, police, crime and courts, and religion; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jose Ruano on being honored by the El Conquistador Latino Newspaper, wishes him well, and extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community for his many valuable contributions; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jose Ruano.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Robert J. Bauman, Tony Zielinski, Michael J. Murphy and Willie C. Wade and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 22, 2014.