## BY ALDS. PEREZ, DONOVAN, PUENTE, ZIELINSKI, KOVAC, BOHL, DUDZIK, COGGS, WITKOWSKI, WADE, MURPHY, BAUMAN

*Resolution congratulating Sylvia Rodriquez on being honored by the* El Conquistador Latino Newspaper.

## WHEREAS,

## SYLVIA RODRIGUEZ

was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the El Conquistador Latino Newspaper during the paper's 16<sup>th</sup> anniversary banquet on July 18, 2014 at American Serb Hall, 5101 W. Oklahoma Ave.; and

**WHEREAS,** Sylvia Rodriguez is the retired Captain of Police Services Bureau, Milwaukee County and holds the distinction as the first and only Latina woman to climb the ranks of Deputy, Sergeant and Lieutenant, until finally reaching the rank of Captain in the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Department, Airport Division; and

**WHEREAS,** Sylvia Rodriguez is a strong advocate for the economic and professional advancement of Hispanics, and fought for herself and other bilingual deputies for the opportunity for career advancement; and

**WHEREAS,** Sylvia Rodriguez used her bilingual skills to work as a community policing officer in Hispanic and African American communities, schools and centers, which has helped build stronger relationships and overcome the language barrier; and

WHEREAS, El Conquistador was founded by Victor Huyke, its editor and publisher, on July 4, 1998 as a free weekly Spanish language tabloid serving Milwaukee's Hispanic community and has become a key source of news and information for the community, providing valuable coverage of key issues including politics, immigration, culture and entertainment, business/economic development, sports, police, crime and courts, and religion; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Sylvia Rodriguez on being honored by the El Conquistador Latino Newspaper, wishes her well, and extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community for her many valuable contributions; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Sylvia Rodriguez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Robert J. Bauman, Tony Zielinski, Michael J. Murphy and Willie C. Wade and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 22, 2014