## BY ALD. KOVAC, BOHL, DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI, MURPHY, COGGS, PEREZ

*Resolution congratulating Vitucci's on its* 80<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

## WHEREAS,

•

## **VITUCCI'S**

marked its 80<sup>th</sup> anniversary during a special celebration on April 4, 2014; and

**WHEREAS**, Vitucci's, located at 1832 E. North Ave., was founded in 1934 by Frank Vitucci and his wife Anne-Marie shortly after prohibition and is still owned by his grandchildren today, keeping Vitucci's up and running as it is a melting pot of people and a noted east side landmark; and

WHEREAS, Vitucci's started as a soda parlor during prohibition, but when prohibition laws started to loosen, Frank would be known as a "barker" and would stand outside the bar to convince the locals to come in and have some of the local beers they served such as Miller, Pabst and Schlitz; and

**WHEREAS,** Frank and Anne-Marie dreamed of opening up a restaurant and a bar in the city and both wanted the building because of the central location on N. Cramer St. and E. North Ave., and the establishment became a bustling neighborhood favorite; and

**WHEREAS,** Frank and Anne-Marie had their struggles with the establishment making ends meet during the Great Depression, but the relaxing atmosphere and wholesome food was a testament to the love that was put into the restaurant, which was just a floor below the residence of the then 14 Vitucci family members; and

**WHEREAS,** Today – although the east side business district has grown immensely and with great success since those early years – each day Vitucci's still stands strong, serving a diverse and loyal crowd; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Vitucci's on its 80<sup>th</sup> anniversary, and extends its sincere wishes for continued prosperity; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Vitucci's.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Michael J. Murphy, Milele A. Coggs, and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2014.