BY ALDS. DAVIS, WADE, HAMILTON, KOVAC, COGGS, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, PUENTE, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating the International Crane Foundation on receiving a 2014 Corporate Citizen Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin.

WHEREAS,

INTERNATIONAL CRANE FOUNDATION

was honored as a recipient of the International Institute of Wisconsin's Corporate Citizen Award, presented during the institute's 19th annual World Citizen Day held May 3, 2014, at 1110 North Old World Third St.; and

WHEREAS, As a recipient of the Corporate Citizen Award, the International Crane Foundation is being recognized for dedication and action in fostering and promoting international understanding and cooperation, exchange, services, and education, and is being thanked for enriching Wisconsin residents through positive leadership, thus improving the quality of life for all residents; and

WHEREAS, The International Crane Foundation was established in 1973 to foster conservational education, ecosystem protection, and wetland and water restoration for both international and domestic communities, whilst highlighting the fifteen species of cranes around the world; and

WHEREAS, The International Crane Foundation emphasizes the conservation of natural habitats for many species, along with safeguarding the current agricultural practices within these communities, unceasingly striving to enrich these regions through the education of community members on water security, clean energy, land stewardship, climate change adaptation, and conservation-friendly livelihoods; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the International Crane Foundation on receiving a 2014 Corporate Citizen Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin, commends them for its outstanding service to the institute, and wishes for them success in all of their future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the International Crane Foundation.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Willie C. Wade, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Robert W. Puente, Terry Witkowski and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2014.