BY ALDS. DAVIS, WADE, HAMILTON, KOVAC, COGGS, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, PUENTE, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating Dr. Brian Bear on receiving a 2014 World Citizen Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin.

WHEREAS,

DR. BRIAN BEAR

was honored as a recipient of the International Institute of Wisconsin's World Citizen Award, presented during the institute's 19th annual World Citizen Day held May 3, 2014, at 1110 North Old World Third St.; and

WHEREAS, As a recipient of the World Citizen Award, Dr. Brian Bear is being recognized for dedication and action in fostering and promoting international understanding and cooperation, exchange, services, and education, and is being thanked for enriching Milwaukee residents through positive leadership, thus improving the quality of life for all residents; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Brian Bear has served as an obstetrician and gynecologist for the greater Milwaukee community since 1989, and differentiates himself through his passion for the ABCD foundation – After Breast Cancer Diagnosis – in which he has served on their advisory board and as a direct advocate for women in the Milwaukee community for ten years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Brian Bear recently attended his eighth international medical brigade, traveling with students from Marquette University annually to Honduras, and this year to Nicaragua, to provide costless, yet exceptional health care for rural communities, and has made connections with the organization's founders and their communities in Honduras and Nicaragua whilst being able to provide invaluable, individualized healthcare to each patient; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Brian Bear on receiving a 2014 World Citizen Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin, commends him for his outstanding service to the institute, and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented toDr. Brian Bear.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Willie C. Wade, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Robert W. Puente, Terry Witkowski and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2014.