BY ALDS. DAVIS, WADE, HAMILTON, KOVAC, COGGS, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, PUENTE, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating Aprik Weitzer on receiving a 2014 Expressive Cultural Heritage Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin.

WHEREAS,

APRIK WEITZER

was honored as a recipient of the International Institute of Wisconsin's Expressive Cultural Heritage Award, presented during the institute's 19th annual World Citizen Day held May 3, 2014, at 1110 North Old World Third St.; and

WHEREAS, As a recipient of the Expressive Cultural Heritage Award, Aprik Weitzer is being recognized for dedication and action in fostering and promoting international understanding and cooperation, exchange, services, and education, and is being thanked for enriching others with artwork; and

WHEREAS, Aprik Weitzer is an Armenian artist who was born and raised in Sochi, Russia, and after receiving five years of formal training, she was accepted into the Moscow School of Applied Arts at the age of sixteen, and shortly after graduating, Aprik moved to the United States and became an art professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Aprik Weitzer has completed over one-hundred privately commissioned art pieces, many of which are featured in galleries across both Europe and the United States and can be found in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, San Francisco, Germany, Russia, and Ecuador, all of which is best appreciated in natural light and is accentuated by her use of color, light and detail; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Aprik Weitzer on receiving a 2014 Expressive Cultural Heritage Award from the International Institute of Wisconsin, commends her for her outstanding service to the institute, and wishes for her success in all of her future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Aprik Weitzer.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Willie C. Wade, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Robert W. Puente, Terry Witkowski and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2014.