## April 9, 2014

Alderman Nik Kovac, Chairman City of Milwaukee Common Council Finance and Personnel Committee 200 East Wells Street, Room 205 Milwaukee, WI 53202

## File No: #131672: Resolution approving an agreement between the City of Milwaukee and Froedtert Health, Inc. for services related to the City's wellness program

Dear Alderman Kovac and Finance Committee Members:

The City of Milwaukee Department of Employee Relations (DER) in cooperation with City of Milwaukee Wellness and Prevention Labor Management Committee entered into an agreement and engagement statement in 2010 with Froedtert Health, Inc. that was approved as part of Common Council file #100204 for a three year period. The agreement and engagement statement was extended in 2012 under Common Council File #121029. File #131169, adopted December 17, 2013, directed DER to take suspend the outcome based component of the City's wellness program.

This file approves an agreement between the City and Froedtert Health, Inc. to continue wellness services, including the outcome based component of the wellness program.

A copy of the agreement is part of the file. The City has identified the value of a comprehensive wellness program in controlling health care costs. The agreement includes language regarding enhanced security, limited data sharing, and a limited number of persons at Workforce Health having access to the data. The agreement reflects resolution regarding current and future invoices.

The Wellness and Prevention Labor Management Committee reviewed the terms of the agreement and statement at a meeting on April 2, 2014 and unanimously approved the same, asking the Finance and Personnel Committee and the full Common Council to do the same.

I would be happy to answer any questions you have regarding this issue.

Please let me know if you have any questions or comments regarding this file. A resolution has been prepared by the Legislative Reference Bureau.

Sincerely,

Michael Brady Employee Benefits

CC: Ellen Tangen, CA
Dennis Yacarrino, DOA
Maria Monteagudo, DER
Renee Joos, DER
Mary Turk, LRB