BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating and commending the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Panthers basketball team on their Horizon League championship and the team's fourth NCAA tournament berth.

WHEREAS,

THE UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MILWAUKEE PANTHERS

earned the 2014 Horizon League conference tournament title with a 69-63 victory over Wright State on March 12, 2014, securing UWM's fourth-ever NCAA tournament berth; and

WHEREAS, In front of 7,784 fans at the Nutter Center in Dayton, Ohio, the fifth-seeded UWM Panthers led the Wright State Raiders from the opening tip to the final buzzer, becoming the first team seeded lower than third to win the Horizon League tournament in its current format and securing UWM's first NCAA tournament berth since 2006; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Coach Rob Jeter, whose eight-year tenure with the team has included a 75-63 conference record, 2011 Coach of the Year honors and a challenging rebuilding process following the team's 2006 NCAA tournament berth, the UWM Panthers completed an impressive four-game run en route to their conference title, knocking off Detroit, Valparaiso and top-seeded UW-Green Bay to advance to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, Led by senior forward Kyle Kelm, who scored 20 points and notched nine rebounds, and senior guard Jordan Aaron, who made a pair of free throws with 31.5 seconds left to seal the win, the UWM Panthers made 50 percent of their three-point shots and out-rebounded the Raiders 35-28, turning over the ball just 10 times; and

WHEREAS, With senior guard Jordan Aaron named the tournament MVP and an automatic berth in the NCAA tournament as a result of their title win, the 21-13 UWM Panthers will proudly represent their school and their city in the NCAA Tournament; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Panthers on winning the 2014 Horizon League Championship, recognizes them on an outstanding 2013-2014 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Panthers.

Introduced and approved on April 2, 2014 by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Michael J. Murphy, Willie C. Wade, Ashanti Hamilton, Joe Davis, Sr., Nik Kovac, Robert Bauman, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan, Robert W. Puente, Joe Dudzik, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski and Tony Zielinski.