BY ALDS. DAVIS, BOHL, BAUMAN, HAMILTON, WADE, WITKOWSKI, DUDZIK, PUENTE, DONOVAN, KOVAC, COGGS, PEREZ

Resolution recognizing Milwaukee Police Officer Andrew Moutry for an act of bravery when he helped evacuate Milwaukee residents from a burning complex on February 4, 2014.

WHEREAS,

OFFICER ANDREW MOUTRY

acted with bravery and without regard to his own personal safety when he entered an apartment building on the morning of February 4, 2014 and helped evacuate Milwaukee residents from a unit engulfed in flames; and

WHEREAS, Police Officer Andrew Moutry, a member of the Milwaukee Police Department, responded to a complex located at 7023 W. Silver Spring at approximately 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, February 4, 2014; and

WHEREAS, Acting quickly and without concern for his own safety, Police Officer Andrew Moutry entered the complex and rescued Milwaukee residents who were stuck inside of the burning building; and

WHEREAS, With thick smoke billowing and flames engulfing the complex, Police Officer Andrew Moutry helped escort residents, who had become disoriented because of smoke inhalation, out of the apartment complex to safety; and

WHEREAS, Police Officer Andrew Moutry exemplifies the very best of the Milwaukee Police Department, and his heroic and selfless actions speak volumes about his personal beliefs and his concern for the safety and well-being of his fellow neighbors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and commends Police Officer Andrew Moutry for courage and bravery in the line of duty, extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Police Officer Andrew Moutry, an outstanding and exemplary employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Davis, Sr., Jim Bohl, Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Willie C. Wade, Terry L. Witkowski, Joe Dudzik, Robert W. Puente, Robert G. Donovan, Nik Kovac, Milele A. Coggs and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 11, 2014.