## BY ALDS. PEREZ, PUENTE, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, HINES, COGGS, KOVAC, DONOVAN, ZIELINSKI, MURPHY, HAMILTON, DUDZIK

Resolution congratulating MiVoz.com on their selection as the 2014 Hispanic Small Business of the Year by the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin.

## WHEREAS,

## MIVOZ.COM

was selected as the 2014 Hispanic Small Business of the Year by the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin, and they was honored during HCCW's 24th annual HCCW Gala on January 18, 2014 at the Potawatomi Bingo and Casino Expo Center; and

WHEREAS, MiVoz.com was founded in 2010 when owner Andrea Mendez Barrutia saw a need for non-profits to be able to manage their events online. The website is also a free bilingual community calendar for a diverse array of community events. Due to an increase in demand and their original success in Milwaukee, the website expanded to Chicago in 2012; and

**WHEREAS**, Andrea Mendez Barrutia is the founder and owner of MiVoz.com. She was the only one in a family of six to graduate college where she earned a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and an M.B.A. in General Management; and

**WHEREAS**, Andrea Mendez Barrutia has always had a desire to give back to the community and has done that through MiVoz.com. While she worked for Fortune 500 companies, she gained more appreciation for non-profits which led her to creating her own; and

**WHEREAS,** The HCCW Gala honors the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and in 2014, HCCW celebrates 24 years of building better futures for the individuals, families and communities it serves, and MiVoz.com is an outstanding example of a small business making a positive impact in the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates MiVoz.com on being selected as the 2014 Hispanic Small Business of the Year, commends them for their achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for them a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

*FURTHER RESOLVED*, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to MiVoz.com.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Robert W. Puente, Jim Bohl, Terry L. Witkowski, Willie L. Hines, Jr., Milele A. Coggs, Nik Kovac, Tony Zielinski, Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton and Joe Dudzik and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2013.