BY ALDS. KOVAC, MURPHY, PEREZ, COGGS

Resolution recognizing the Digital Billboard Art Month and the 10 day art exhibit it will bring to Milwaukee.

WHEREAS,

DIGITAL BILLBOARD ART MONTH

was recognized in the City of Milwaukee October 1-10, 2013, a first-of-its-kind-in-thenation digital billboard art initiative; and

WHEREAS, During Digital Billboard Art Month, 18 City of Milwaukee nonprofit visual art groups will have at least one billboard in rotation on one of eighteen digital billboards across the city that will include images from one or two local artists; and

WHEREAS, People on Milwaukee highways and streets will be able to experience a 10-day art exhibit that will create awareness of Milwaukee artists and visual art nonprofit organizations and institutions; and

WHEREAS, A broad variety of art created by 18 local organizations and institutions will be highlighted, including selections from the Coalition of Photographic Arts (CoPA), Haggerty Museum of Art at Marquette University, Institute of Visual Arts (INOVA), UW-Milwaukee Peck School of the Arts, Jewish Museum Milwaukee, Latino Arts, Inc., Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design, and more; and

WHEREAS, On October 2, 2013, the Institute of Visual Arts, located at 2155 N. Prospect Ave., hosted a Digital Billboard Art Month reception, cosponsored by Creative Alliance Milwaukee, which displayed all of the billboard images (along with a presentation about the project) and included a discussion with Graeme Reid, director of Collections and Exhibitions at the Museum of Wisconsin Art, now, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the first ever Digital Billboard Art Month and exhibit, and commends and thanks the event's sponsors, organizers and participants for a positive event and for promoting awareness of the city's artists and visual art nonprofit organizations; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the organizers of the official Digital Billboard Art Month.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 24, 2013.