BY ALD. COGGS, BAUMAN, WITKOWSKI, DUDZIK, PUENTE, BOHL, DONOVAN, KOVAC, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Greg Perteet and recognizing him for his brave, selfless actions on May 30, 2013.

WHEREAS,

GREG PERTEET

acted with bravery and selflessness on May 30, 2013, responding to a crime in progress while performing his daily duties as an operations driver worker; and

WHEREAS, Greg Perteet, who has served in the Department of Public Works Sanitation Division for more than 19 years, was performing his duties as an operations driver worker on May 30, 2013 when at approximately 3:00 p.m., he and co-worker Charles Revello were heading west at the intersection of N. 27 St. and W. Atkinson Ave. when a person was shot and fell in the street in front of them; and

WHEREAS, Greg Perteet immediately jumped out of the truck and directed a school bus full of children out of harm's way and away from the active scene, while co-worker Charles Revello applied pressure to the wound of the victim; and

WHEREAS, Greg Perteet and Charles Revello successfully responded to help the victim, and potentially saved the life of the 38-year-old male, who was taken to a local hospital; and

WHEREAS, Greg Perteet has richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of his coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for his dedication and service to the Sanitation Division, and his selfless actions on May 30, 2013 speak volumes about his character and his dedication to help his fellow citizens and his community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Greg Perteet, recognizes him for his distinguished acts of bravery, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him continued success in his work; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Greg Perteet, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Robert J. Bauman, Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Jim Bohl, Robert G. Donovan, José G. Pérez, Nik Kovac and Robert W. Puente and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 2, 2013.