BY ALDS. HAMILTON, BOHL, DONOVAN, WITKOWSKI, COGGS, KOVAC, WADE

Resolution congratulating Gale Thomas on her retirement from the Milwaukee Public Schools.

WHEREAS,

GALE THOMAS

retired with pride and satisfaction as an excellent educator with Milwaukee Public Schools on June 14,2013 after more than 39 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Gale Thomas's passion was to serve students of Milwaukee and for nearly four decades she managed to do so by serving in various capacities for Milwaukee Public Schools; and

WHEREAS, A lifelong learner, Gale Thomas received an associate's degree from Milwaukee Area Technical College in 1982, a bachelor's degree from Lakeland College in 1990 (after also attending Alverno College), and she received her special education teaching certification from UW-Milwaukee in 1992; and

WHEREAS, Gale Thomas found great fulfillment as a special education teacher at Northwest Secondary School (2008-2011), and North Division High School (2011-2013); and

WHEREAS, During her lengthy career at MPS, Gale Thomas served as an aide or paraprofessional educational assistant at Victor Berger/Martin Luther King Elementary, Assata (computer lab), SDC (computer lab), Hayes Elementary, St. Charles, Madison High School, Marshall High School, Townsend, Silver Spring Elementary, Philipp/Victory Elementary, and Blaine Elementary; and

WHEREAS, Gale Thomas richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of her coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for her dedication and service to Milwaukee Public Schools and to the City of Milwaukee, and leaves a memorable legacy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Gale Thomas on her retirement from Milwaukee Public Schools, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Gale Thomas.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Robert G. Donovan, Willie C. Wade, Terry L. Witkowski, Milele A. Coggs and Nick Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 11, 2013.