BY ALDS. DUDZIK, PEREZ, COGGS

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Kathy Ratzburg, who passed from this life on January 22, 2013.

WHEREAS,

KATHY RATZBURG

passed from this life on January 22, 2013 at the age of 66, and services were held at the Bruskiewitz Funeral Home, 5355 W. Forest Home Ave., on January 28, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Kathy Ratzburg was born on May 14, 1946, and earned her Bachelor of Arts and Master of Library and Information Science degrees from the University of Wisconsin in Madison; and

WHEREAS, Serving patrons of the Milwaukee Public Library system for more than 42 years, Kathy Ratzburg first came to work as a librarian in Milwaukee on November 2, 1970, and her dedicated career included stints served at Central Library, East Library, Capitol Library, Atkinson Library, Forest Home Library and finally the Zablocki Library; and

WHEREAS, Earning a reputation for being intelligent, friendly and positive, Kathy Ratzburg took great joy in helping the public through the course of her daily duties, laughed easily and had many friends throughout the library system; and

WHEREAS, A member of the band "One Lane Bridge," Kathy Ratzburg was well-known for years as a musician at Milwaukee establishments like the Id & Eggo, where she played guitar and sang folk music, inspiring those who listened to join her in singing and harmonizing on staples like "Kumbaya" and "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot;" and

WHEREAS, Kathy Ratzburg leaves to cherish her memory loving partner A.L. Williams, her sister Frances Susan Galow, her brother William Ratzburg and a whole host of adoring nieces, nephews, relatives, friends, co-workers and band-mates; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Kathy Ratzburg, and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Kathy Ratzburg.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Dudzik, José G. Pérez and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 5, 2013.