## **GRANT F. LANGLEY**

City Attorney

RUDOLPH M. KONRAD LINDA ULISS BURKE VINCENT D. MOSCHELLA Deputy City Attorneys



April 26, 2011

To the Honorable Common Council Of the City of Milwaukee Room 205 – City Hall

Re: Resolution Relating to the Claim of AT&T (25201008-50-0049)

C.I. File No. 10-S-279

Dear Council Members:

Enclosed please find a proposed resolution. We ask that it be introduced and referred to the Committee on Judiciary & Legislation, with the following recommendation.

Claimant, AT&T, by its representative Debbie Griffiths, 435 South 95<sup>th</sup> Street, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor, Milwaukee, WI 53214 alleges that on/about August 6 - 9, 2010 they discovered that their underground cable at/near 845 North 2<sup>nd</sup> Street was damaged when the City of Milwaukee excavated. They claim damages in the amount of \$46,488.43.

Our investigation reveals that the Infrastructure Services Division records indicate that on July 30, 2010 Sewer Maintenance was excavating for a sewer repair at 823 North 2<sup>nd</sup> Street and damaged the claimant's cable. The cable was properly marked prior to the excavation. The claimant has agreed to accept a compromised settlement of \$30,000.00. Because settlement of this matter is deemed expeditious to the City of Milwaukee, we recommend settlement of this claim and have enclosed an appropriate resolution for your convenience.

Very truly yours,

GRANT F. LANGLEY City Attorney

JAN A. SMOKOWICZ Assistant City Attorney

JAS:ms Enclosure 1029-2010-2369:168670 opropriate resolution for your

THOMAS O. GARTNER SUSAN D. BICKERT

STUART S. MUKAMAL THOMAS J. BEAMISH

MAURITA F. HOUREN

JOHN J. HEINEN

SUSAN E. LAPPEN

KURT A. BEHLING GREGG C. HAGOPIAN ELLEN H. TANGEN MELANIE R. SWANK JAY A. UNORA DONALD L. SCHRIEFER EDWARD M. EHRLICH

LEONARD A. TOKUS MIRIAM R. HORWITZ MARYNELL REGAN G. O'SULLIVAN-CROWLEY KATHRYN Z. BLOCK

**ELOISA DE LEÓN** 

ADAM B. STEPHENS KEVIN P. SULLIVAN

ROBIN A. PEDERSON DANIELLE M. BERGNER

**CHRISTINE M. QUINN** Assistant City Attorneys

BETH CONRADSON CLEARY THOMAS D. MILLER JARELY M. RUIZ

JAN A. SMOKOWICZ PATRICIA A. FRICKER HEIDI WICK SPOERL