BY ALDS. COGGS, TAYLOR, STAMPER, PRATT, ZAMARRIPA, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, PEREZ

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Cherrye Ballard Trotman.

WHEREAS, CHERRYE BALLARD TROTMAN

passed from this life on February 26, 2024 at the age of 93 and services were held for family and friends on March 8 at St. Mark AME Church, 1616 W. Atkinson Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Cherrye Ballard Trotman was born in Montgomery, Alabama, on July 6, 1930, and planted roots in Milwaukee in 1945 and became active in its growing Black community, and she went on to graduate from the Alabama State College for Negroes (now Alabama State University) with a degree in Secondary education and also obtained a master's degree in education; and

WHEREAS, Cherrye Ballard Trotman was assigned as an elementary teacher at H.L. Palmer Elementary School where she served for 29 years, followed by six more years at Washington Irving School where she taught math and reading to deaf students with the help of an interpreter before her retirement and was recognized as Wisconsin teacher of the year in 1976; and

WHEREAS, Cherrye shared her commitment to transferring educational goals to her students, grandchildren, neighborhood children, and relatives, was very active in her church, was known for her ability to bake pound cakes, and loved to travel the world during her lifetime, including trips to Africa, South America, Europe, and the Caribbean; now, therefor be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Cherrye Ballard Trotman, who will be remembered fondly for her selflessness and love for others; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Cherrye Ballard Trotman.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Larresa Taylor, Russell W. Stamper, II, Andrea M. Pratt, JoCasta Zamarripa, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 19, 2024.