BY ALDS. BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, TAYLOR, RAINEY, SPIKER, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, MURPHY, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Sheldyn M. Himle for her retirement from the Milwaukee Municipal Court

WHEREAS,

SHELDYN M. HIMLE

retired as the Municipal Court's chief administrator after more than 14 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee and the Municipal Court; and

WHEREAS, Prior to her career in the courts, Sheldyn M. Himle graduated magna cum laude from Hamline University with a Bachelor's degree in Political Science and then worked as a government relations representative and lobbyist for Grand Metropolitan Food Sector and the Pillsbury Company and served as a member of the Dean's Administration team at Hamline University School of Law; and

WHEREAS, Sheldyn M. Himle's career in the courts began in 2000 when she became the Court Administrator for the State of Minnesota Tax Court of Appeals and later went on to serve within the court administration for the Fourth Judicial Circuit District in Hennepin County, Minnesota, before joining the Milwaukee Municipal Court as the Assistant Court Administrator in May 2010; and

WHEREAS, In December 2012, Sheldyn M. Himle was appointed the Municipal Court's Chief Court Administrator, and for 11-plus years, worked diligently to manage court staff, made sure the court was provided with adequate resources, and ensured that all court resources were used in proper accordance with the court's mission and strategic objectives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Sheldyn M. Himle on her retirement from the Milwaukee Municipal Court, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Sheldyn M. Himle, an outstanding citizen, employee, and advocate of the courts.

Introduced by Common Council members Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Larresa Taylor, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Michael J. Murphy, JoCasta Zamarripa, Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, and Lamont Westmoreland and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 19, 2024.