BY ALDS. DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, PRATT, TAYLOR, ZAMARIPPA, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Nickie Rouleau as a 2024 Women's History Month Honoree

## WHEREAS,

## **NICKIE ROULEAU**

was nominated by Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic for her lifetime of distinguished achievements to represent the women of Milwaukee as a 2024 Women's History Month Honoree; and

**WHEREAS,** Women's History Month honorees are exemplary figures in the Milwaukee community who demonstrate outstanding contributions in civic, professional, and humanitarian pursuits; and

WHEREAS, Nickie Rouleau is a lifelong resident of Bay View who has served her community in many ways, including as the current President of the Bay View Neighborhood Association, where she has organized fan-favorite events such as Chill on the Hill and the Bay View Classic bike race; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Rouleau has spearheaded the Bay View Bash near-zero waste street festival which has raised over \$100,000 over the past decade for other nonprofits in the community, and has assisted in the restoration of the Pryor Street well, funding for scholarships for local students, and improvements at the Second Hand Purrs cat shelter; and

WHEREAS, Nickie's commitment to Bay View goes beyond organized events, as she loves to be out in the community and meeting her neighbors, or volunteering at St. Augustine Church and Larry Under The Bridge; and

**WHEREAS,** Nickie's lifetime in Bay View has instilled a deep love for the neighborhood, and her unwavering efforts in community building strive to make Bay View a welcoming and thriving place for everyone; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Nickie Rouleau as a 2024 Women's History Month Honoree, commends her for her positive contributions to the community, and wishes for her continued success in all her future pursuits; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Nickie Rouleau.

Introduced by Common Council members Marina Dimitrijevic, Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Larresa Taylor, JoCasta Zamarripa, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 19, 2024.