BY ALDS. PEREZ, COGGS, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, STAMPER, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, TAYLOR

Resolution congratulating La Cage on its 40th anniversary in business.

WHEREAS,

LaCAGE

was founded in 1984 by Milwaukee residents George Prentice and Corey Grubb, and is now owned and operated by Dave Wolz, and celebrated its 40th anniversary with several special events throughout 2024; and

- WHEREAS, LaCage has served as an epicenter of Milwaukee's LGBTQ community for four decades, emphasizing safety, community, and connection in a historic venue that has provided a safe space for members of the gay community to be themselves all night long; and
- **WHEREAS,** The nightclub, located at 801 S. 2nd St., has been remodeled frequently to freshen the space up, and now features a "multi-venue" dance club with a dance floor, a lower-level bistro lounge where people can order food and play pool, an upper-level show lounge, six bars and has been reinvigorated by new ideas for new programming such as the reintroduction of drag shows, live music, and happy hour; and
- **WHEREAS**, The space has blossomed since its beginnings in 1984 to now serve as the premier gay club in the neighborhood of Walker's Point, and only seeks to expand its clientele to a wider range of the gay and allied community of Milwaukee; and
- WHEREAS, LaCage continues the legacy of the historic building it resides in, built in 1887 as the Bahr building, the space has served in a variety of roles over an almost 150-year history, including a grocery, saloon, factory, punk rock music hall, and for the past 40 years a gay club; and
- WHEREAS, Through its commitment to connection, compassion, and quality, the community has appreciated LaCage for its much-needed offerings in Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates LaCage on its 40th anniversary, and wishes for the venue and its staff continued success, health and happiness; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dave Wolz and LaCage.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland and Larresa Taylor and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 19, 2024.