BY ALDS. STAMPER, BROSTOFF, SPIKER, DIMITRIJEVIC, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, RAINEY, BAUMAN, COGGS, CHAMBERS, ZAMARRIPA, WESTMORELAND, PRATT

Resolution recognizing Reverend Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde on his retirement and decades of community service.

WHEREAS,

REV. DR. OMOTOLOKUN OMOKUNDE

was recognized on June 24, 2023 on the occasion of his retirement and for his decades of community service; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Chief Babalawo Ifakayode Omotolokun Omokunde has a lifetime of experience mentoring, training, and educating youth in the Milwaukee community and throughout the country, particularly his sons Adesolu and Supreme, as well as numerous others he adopted as his own; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde has proven to be an knowledgeable and compassionate spiritual leader, earning advanced degrees in divinity and leading congregations as a pastor; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde has devoted his life to the advancement of Black Americans, writing on Black history and culture, teaching young Black people, and respectably representing the Black community in broader Christian society through a culturally reflective testimony of the Revolutionary Power of Jesus Christ; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde has volunteered at and served in leadership positions for numerous nonprofit organizations, as well as service via his Fraternity Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. and Prince Hall Masonic Lodge Truth Square #11, bettering his communities with recreation, learning, and camaraderie; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Rev. Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde for his contributions to the greater Milwaukee community on the occasion of his retirement, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for him continued success and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rev. Dr. Omotolokun Omokunde.

Introduced by Common Council members Russell W. Stamper, II, Jonathan Brostoff, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Mark Chambers, Jr., Lamont Westmoreland, Andrea Pratt, and JoCasta Zamarripa and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 11, 2023.