BY ALDS. BAUMAN, DIMITRIJEVIC, CHAMBERS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, PEREZ, RAINEY, COGGS, BROSTOFF, ZAMARRIPA, TAYLOR, PRATT, WESTMORELAND

Resolution congratulating the Department of Political Science at Marquette University on the 100th anniversary of its undergraduate major in Political Science.

WHEREAS,

THE DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE AT MARQUETTE UNIVERSITY

celebrated 100 years of educating students through its Political Science major during the 2023-2024 academic year; and

WHEREAS, Political Science, established in 1923, has been the chosen major of more than 5,000 students at Marquette University; and

WHEREAS, Political Science has been an indispensable major for graduates who have gone on to work in every level of government, law, the nonprofit sector, the private sector, and academia, including many in the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, The Political Science Department celebrated the 100th anniversary of its Political Science major with a year-long series of events highlighting the contributions of the major and envisioning its future direction; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Marquette University's Department of Political Science on the 100th anniversary of its Political Science major, thanks it for its positive impact on the Milwaukee community, the State of Wisconsin, and beyond, and wishes for it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Department of Political Science at Marquette University.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark Chambers, Jr., Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Jonathan Brostoff, JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Andrea M. Pratt, and Lamont Westmoreland, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 11, 2023.