BY ALDS. PÉREZ, ZAMARRIPA, DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, SPIKER, STAMPER, WESTMORELAND, PRATT, TAYLOR, MURPHY

Resolution congratulating El Rey grocery store on its 45th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

EL REY

celebrated 45 years of doing business in Milwaukee during a special event held on May 13, 2023; and

- WHEREAS, In 1978, Mexican immigrants Beto and Ernesto Villarreal opened the modest Super Mercado El Rey at 1023 S. 16th St. (now S. Cesar Chavez Dr.) and began their journey to creating one of the largest Hispanic-owned businesses in the state, and today's El Rey chain of four stores, food manufacturing plant, and wholesale products business employs hundreds of workers; and
- WHEREAS, In 2007, the El Rey Super Mercado moved from its original location across the street to a brand new building at 916 S. Cesar E. Chavez Dr., and the store is covered with painted murals depicting historic tales and culture, and filled with new equipment to continue to offer customers the El Rey experience; and
- WHEREAS, El Rey is now woven into the fabric of Milwaukee and the stores and products are examples of the spirit of the city's community, opportunity, and the ever growing and expanding Latino population in Milwaukee; and
- WHEREAS, In the Villarreal's business there is a true sense of family and community as the family continues to build their business with the main goal of serving the people of southeast Wisconsin, and they are humbled by El Rey's continued success and feel very blessed by their family; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its sincere congratulations to El Rey on its 45th anniversary of doing business, and wishes it continued success and prosperity; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution will be presented to the Villarreal family.
- Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, Lamont Westmoreland and Andrea M. Pratt and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 31, 2023.