BY ALDS. PÉREZ, ZAMARRIPA, DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, SPIKER, STAMPER, WESTMORELAND, PRATT, TAYLOR

Resolution congratulating Lucy Irene Apolinar Hernandez on being awarded a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award.

WHEREAS,

## **LUCY IRENE APOLINAR HERNANDEZ**

was awarded a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, and was recognized at the United Community Center's 53<sup>rd</sup> Anniversary Celebration on April 28, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Lucy Irene Apolinar Hernandez, a senior at Divine Savior Holy Angels with 3.9 GPA, overcame challenges as a younger student, but always saw music as a source of inspiration and comfort, and her long-standing role in the Latino Arts Strings Program opened up a new world for her; and

WHEREAS, Through her many activities including Campus Ministry and Marion Scholar Peer Mentoring – in addition to significant volunteerism (including Children's Hospital and Feeding America) – Lucy has fostered excellent leadership skills that will serve her well in the future; and

WHEREAS, Lucy's daily goal is to inspire, uplift, and give back to her community, and she intends to pursue business and communications at Marquette University and potentially law school in the future; and

WHEREAS, Lucy Irene Apolinar Hernandez embodies the Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements of the community's youth by selecting five exceptional students in collaboration with Badger Mutual Insurance Company; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Lucy Irene Apolinar Hernandez on receiving a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, commends her for her contributions and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Lucy Irene Apolinar Hernandez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, Lamont Westmoreland and Andrea M. Pratt and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 9, 2023.