BY ALDS. PÉREZ, ZAMARRIPA, DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, SPIKER, STAMPER, WESTMORELAND, PRATT, TAYLOR

Resolution congratulating Marilyn De La O on being awarded a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award.

WHEREAS,

MARILYN DE LA O

was awarded a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, and was recognized at the United Community Center's 53rd Anniversary Celebration on April 28, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn De La O, an 8th grader at Bruce-Guadalupe Middle School with a 4.0 GPA and a passion for music, has been and remains a great role model to her peers as an active member of her school's Latino Arts Strings Program, First Stage Theater, Art Club, and the WSMA Middle Level State Honors Orchestra; and

WHEREAS, Through her passion and aptitude for music, Marilyn De La O continues to connect with and share her culture among her peers and the community; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn, a keen example of compassion, inquisitiveness, and understanding, has goals of someday becoming a math teacher and being the first in her family to attend college; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn De La O Hernandez embodies the Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements of the community's youth by selecting five exceptional students in collaboration with Badger Mutual Insurance Company; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Marilyn De La O on receiving a 2023 Badger Mutual Wall of Fame Award, commends her for her contributions and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Marilyn De La O.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, Lamont Westmoreland and Andrea M. Pratt and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 9, 2023.