BY ALDS. MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, PEREZ, RAINEY, BAUMAN, COGGS, BROSTOFF, CHAMBERS, STAMPER, ZAMARRIPA

Resolution congratulating Dr. Nick Balster on his appointment as William Rothermel Bascom Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

WHEREAS,

DR. NICK BALSTER

was granted the prestigious five-year William Rothermel Bascom Professorship by the Office of the Provost at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the fall of 2022; and

- WHEREAS, Dr. Nick Balster, Professor in the Department of Soil Science and the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was granted the William Rothermel Bascom Professorship so he may employ the resources thereof to expand his scholarly pursuits in environmental education and forest soil ecology; and
- WHEREAS, Receiving a Bascom Professorship, named in tribute of former University of Wisconsin-Madison president John Bascom, is a distinct honor awarded to distinguished faculty of the University; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Nick Balster has overseen a lab entitled "Collaborations in Ecosystem Science and Environmental Education" which seeks "innovative ways to combine research, teaching, and outreach both in education and the physical sciences"; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Nick Balster co-founded the Madison Teaching & Learning Excellence program (MTLE) dedicated to ensuring the success of early-career faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Nick Balster has had a long and accomplished career in the state of Wisconsin as an instructor, an academic, and a proponent of environmental education; therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Nick Balster on his appointment as William Rothermel Bascom Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, commends him for his outstanding contribution to environmental science, and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Nick Balster.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Jonathan Brostoff, Mark Chambers, Jr., Russell W. Stamper, II, and JoCasta Zamarripa and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 21, 2023.