BY ALDS. COGGS, ZAMARIPPA, DIMITRIJEVIC, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Janette Herrera as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree.

WHEREAS,

JANETTE HERRERA

was nominated by Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs for her lifetime of distinguished achievements to represent the women of Milwaukee as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree; and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month honorees are exemplary figures in the Milwaukee community who demonstrate outstanding contributions in civic, professional, and humanitarian pursuits; and

WHEREAS, Janette Herrera served as an educator for 38 years, working in Milwaukee Public Schools and later at Holy Redeemer Christian Academy where she designed an inclusive curriculum reflecting African American studies; and

WHEREAS, Janette Herrera has had a dynamic career outside the classroom as an author, activist, and community organizer, having founded the citywide, annual "King Fest" celebration commemorating the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; and

WHEREAS, Janette Herrera has served as a member of several local and national advocacy organizations including the NAACP, the Association for the Study of Classical African Civilizations, the National Action Network, Operation PUSH (People United to Serve Humanity), and The National Coalition of Blacks for Reparations in America Now, of which she is the chair; and

WHEREAS, Janette Herrera has been the recipient of several prestigious awards including an NAACP Image Award, the Black Health Coalition Community Champion Award, the Unsung Historian Award, as well as receiving accolades from the City, County, State, and Federal governments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Janette Herrera as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree, commends her for her positive contributions to the community, and wishes for her continued success in all her future pursuits; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Janette Herrera.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 21, 2023