BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Officer Peter E. Jerving, who passed from this life on February 7, 2023.

WHEREAS,

PETER E. JERVING

passed from this life in the line of duty on February 7, 2023, and his funeral service was held on February 13, 2023 at Elmbrook Church in Brookfield, Wisconsin and a police honor procession proceeded to Wisconsin Memorial Park Cemetery for burial; and

WHEREAS, Officer Peter E. Jerving was a highly regarded member of the Milwaukee Police Department whose life will be remembered and honored for his sacrifice and his dedication to family, friends, and to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Officer Peter E. Jerving was a four-year veteran of the Milwaukee Police Department, graduating from the Police Academy in 2018 and serving as a patrol officer in District Four; and

WHEREAS, Officer Peter E. Jerving was honored with an MPD Lifesaving Award in 2022 after he helped provide lifesaving emergency care in June 2022 to an individual who suffered serious gunshot wounds and was trapped in a crashed vehicle; and

WHEREAS, Officer Peter E. Jerving leaves to cherish his memory his mother and father, Patty and Douglas Jerving, his sisters Rachel, Rebecca, Katherine, and Faith, brothers Andrew "Drew" and Jamison, girlfriend Megan Bradley, and is further survived by a host of other relatives, his fellow City of Milwaukee Police Officers, the brotherhood of Police Officers and First Responders nationwide, the City of Milwaukee, and his many loving family members and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Officer Peter E. Jerving, recognizes his lasting impact on the community, and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Officer Peter E. Jerving.

Introduced and approved on February 28, 2023 by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council: José G. Pérez, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic and Russell W. Stamper, II.