BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, BAUMAN, STAMPER, RAINEY, COGGS, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF

Resolution congratulating Alberto Maldonado on receiving the UWM Length of Service Award in recognition of 25 years or service.

WHEREAS,

ALBERTO MALDONADO

was recognized for 25 years of dedicated service at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee with the Length of Service Award during a special ceremony on Tuesday, February 14 at the UWM Union; and

WHEREAS, Alberto Maldonado was appointed the official Director of the Roberto Hernández Center in November 2018, and as Director he is responsible for management and planning, including personnel, budget administration, and program development and implementation for all center activities; and

WHEREAS, Alberto Maldonado in his 25 year career at UWM has championed numerous initiatives in the areas of Pre-College, Community Outreach, Admissions, Multicultural Recruitment, and Academic Advising, including the Annual Bilingual Open House, the Milwaukee National Hispanic College fair, the creation of the Undocumented Student Campus Task Force and the establishment of the "Excelencia en la Musica" scholarship fund, among others; and

WHEREAS, Alberto Maldonado throughout his entire career with UWM has collaborated with multiple communities and school districts in Southeastern Wisconsin, and has helped develop programs and initiatives to prepare students and their families for post-secondary admission, select their courses, and eventually graduate from college, thus leaving a positive impact on the lives of students and families; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Alberto Maldonado on 25 years of service to UWM and the Milwaukee community and wishes for him continued success into the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to Alberto Maldonado.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Robert J. Bauman, Mark Chamber, Jr., Russell W. Stamper, II, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker and Jonathan Brostoff and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 28, 2023.