BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing Sharon Robinson on her retirement from the Department of Administration.

WHEREAS,

SHARON ROBINSON

retired as Director of the Department of Administration after nearly two decades of service to the City of Milwaukee and a lengthy career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Robinson earned a bachelor's degree from Michigan State University in 1983 and began her career in public service in the U.S. House of Representatives, where she served as chief of staff to one of Milwaukee's representatives in Congress, Tom Barrett; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Robinson served as the Director of the Washington, D.C., office of the William Davidson Institute, an international nonprofit organization based at the University of Michigan whose mission was to promote economic growth in emerging economies, and worked closely with former U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright to increase the Institute's visibility worldwide; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Robinson began her service with the City of Milwaukee in 2004 when she was appointed by Mayor Tom Barrett to serve as Director of the Department of Administration, where she has overseen various divisions and initiatives including the Budget and Management division, Community Development Grants Administration, Purchasing, Intergovernmental Relations, Information Technology Management Division, the offices of Equity and Inclusion and African American Affairs, and the Environmental Collaboration Office; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Robinson has been a key player in a variety of other important community initiatives including leading Greater Milwaukee's Complete Count Committee during both the 2010 and 2020 U.S. Censuses; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Sharon Robinson on her retirement from the Department of Administration, and wishes for her a future of health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Sharon Robinson, an outstanding employee.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 7, 2023: José G. Pérez, Michael J. Murphy, Robert J. Bauman, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic and Russell W. Stamper, II.