BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, BAUMAN, STAMPER, RAINEY, COGGS, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF

Resolution recognizing the 200<sup>th</sup> anniversary of relations between Mexico and the United States of America

WHEREAS,

## THE CONSULATE OF MEXICO IN MILWAUKEE

recognized and celebrated 200 years of relations between the United States of America and Mexico with a special event at the United Community Center on Friday, December 16, 2022; and

**WHEREAS**, December 12, 2022 officially marked the Bicentennial of bilateral relations between the United States and Mexico, a relationship that is one of the world's most important; and

WHEREAS, The successful Mexico/U.S. relationship is underscored by more than 40 million U.S. citizens being of Mexican heritage living in the United States, and the millions of Americans that live in and travel to Mexico every year, in addition to a long-standing the economically significant trade partnership; and

WHEREAS, In honor of the bonds that have united both countries for two centuries, U.S. Special Presidential Advisor for the Americas Christopher Dodd and Mexico Foreign Secretary Marcelo Ebrard signed a Bicentennial Friendship Declaration at Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores in Mexico City; and

WHEREAS, Throughout December, governments, the private sector, NGOs, and diverse partners will host more than 200 events in Mexico and the United States to celebrate the Bicentennial; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and commemorates the 200<sup>th</sup> anniversary of prosperous relations between Mexico and the United States of America, and wishes for both counties continued positive relations into the future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the Consulate of Mexico in Milwaukee.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Robert J. Bauman, Mark Chamber, Jr., Russell W. Stamper, II, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker and Jonathan Brostoff and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on January 17, 2023.