BY ALDS. PEREZ, STAMPER, RAINEY, COGGS, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, DODD

Resolution congratulating Danae Davis on her retirement from Milwaukee Succeeds.

## WHEREAS,

## **DANAE DAVIS**

highly regarded and respected for her service throughout the City of Milwaukee, retired on November 12, 2022 from her post as Executive Director of Milwaukee Succeeds; and

WHEREAS, Danae Davis served as leader of Milwaukee Succeeds since 2015, and has also served as CEO of PEARLS for Teen Girls Inc., a Milwaukee-based nonprofit that uses a nationally recognized model for girl empowerment and leadership development for adolescent girls, in addition to serving as Diversity Affairs Director at Miller Brewing Company (now Molson Coors) earlier in her career, and has recently become the interim Executive Director for 88Nine Radio Milwaukee; and

**WHEREAS**, Danae Davis's leadership has put Milwaukee Succeeds and the importance of education on the map locally and nationally with Strive Together, their national network partner, and the Milwaukee Succeeds collective impact model as an anchor and example to the community for how to bring people together within a sector to build effective systems; and

WHEREAS, Danae Davis through her tireless work and determination has made the city and greater Milwaukee area better for all, and Davis oversaw the development of the MKE Early Childhood Education Coalition that continues to be a force for building more equitable systems within the sector, and this collaborative approach helped Milwaukee providers stay open, keep staff employed, and safely serve children; and

*WHEREAS*, Danae Davis leaves behind an amazing legacy where she set and exceeded her goals and improved the lives of the families in her community; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Danae Davis on her retirement, and extends its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to Danae Davis.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 22, 2022.