BY ALDS. COGGS, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, SPIKER, RAINEY, DODD, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating and recognizing Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church on its 10th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

SALT OF THE EARTH MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH

celebrated its 10th anniversary of serving the community on October 23, 2022 at Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church, 138 W. North Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church was founded on August 11, 2012 in the home of Deacon Timothy and Sister Irma Lane, and Rev. Antoine Watkins was selected as its pastor; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Pastor Watkins, the motto "The Church that preserves the people" was adopted, and a highly spirited Sunday School, Usher Board and Mass Choir were organized; and

WHEREAS, Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church has recently moved, and it has officially made the land at 4236 N. Teutonia Ave. (once the home of Risen Savior the Resurrection Ministries), their new home and place of worship; and

WHEREAS, Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church has provided inspiration and guidance to the community, and continues to admirably fulfil its mission; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church on its 10th anniversary and wishes for it continued success and prosperity in the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Salt of the Earth Missionary Baptist Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 1, 2022.